Descanso Gardens – Living in a Wildlife Corridor

September 19, 2023

I’m on the Arroyo & Foothills Conservancy mailing list and learned about an exhibit that was being held at the Descanso Gardens Boddy House. The description looked very interesting, so I made plans to check it out.

I decided to visit the Gardens on one of their free Tuesdays. I’ve been to the Gardens quite a bit. But it a difficult to not take the time to walk the gardens once again. So I took my time walking the paths to the historic Boddy House. After much lollygagging, I finally made it to the exhibit. There were sculptures, paintings and photos that described the corridor that wildlife use to traverse from the San Gabriel Mountains to Griffith Park.

Park Pathway
P-22 painting
LA Basin photo
Inside exhibit

After exiting the exhibit, I spent an hour or so walking around Descanso Gardens. It was very green even the ponds.

Cork Oak among ivy
Lilies
Golden currant
Lizard crossing the bridge
Coast Live Oak and algae pond

I left the Gardens, ate a sandwich at Berge’s in La Cañada Flintridge and headed home.

Leave a comment