Annular Solar Eclipse

October 14, 2023

An annular solar eclipse was to occur on the northern tip of California on October 14th. I had no desire to make the trek up north or east to Nevada. So I chose to stay in the Los Angeles area and view the partial annular solar eclipse. I had a few choices on where to view it among them Griffith Observatory, Pasadena City College and Caltech. I choose Caltech! They scheduled a talk in the Cahill Center for Astronomy at 8 in the morning. I arrived in time, parked on East California Blvd and walked to the center. I picked up the free ISO-certified eclipse glasses and headed for the Cahill Center. I decided to not attend the lecture and instead found my way to the Athletic Field where they were setting up telescopes. Most people had not arrived or were inside, so I was to take pictures and talk to the student astronomers.

After a while people started straggling out and the moon began to move across the sun. I took pictures of the equipment and the people attending the event. I had a nice time.

Telescope before the event
Picture through the telescope
Line to view through the telescope
Crowd observing

I enjoyed the event and was able to pick up extra eclipse glasses for my trip to Vermont to hopefully view the total eclipse in April 2024.

Leave a comment