ArroyoFest 2023

October 29, 2023

I have been anticipating ArroyoFest since it was first announced over a year ago. It’s been 20 years since the first and only prior one in 2003. The Arroyo Seco Parkway, also known as the 110, was closed to motor vehicles for 7 miles from South Pasadena, through Highland Park to Avenue 26 in Lincoln Heights. I decided to walk rather ride a bike as I wanted to take pictures from bridges and the roadway along the route. I walked to the Marmion Way overpass and watched as bikers, walkers, joggers, and skaters buzzed by below. Bikers rode on the northbound side while all others walked the southbound side. It was very well organized. I took some pictures then walked to the parkway entrance to join the pedestrians. The crowd seemed fairly sparse when I started but the longer I walked, the more crowded it became especially on the northbound side. Sights included the metro train seemingly flying above the parkway, a small band playing covers under the Avenue 52 bridge and people walking, talking, and seemingly amazed at that they were actually walking on a freeway. I decided to exit the Parkway at Sycamore Grove Park where a festival was just getting started. I walked around a little and then caught a bus home. The event was very well organized and enjoyable. I hope it doesn’t take another 20 years for the next one.

Publicity pamphlet
Event just getting started
Metro Rail flying overhead
Great little band entertaining the pedestrians
Large crowd enjoying the event

Leave a comment